Laura Jurd’s Dinosaur & Friends - Stepping Back, Jumping In

Laura Jurd - trumpet
Elliot Galvin - piano
Conor Chaplin - bass
Corrie Dick - drums / percussion

Ligeti Quartet

Heida Mobeck - tuba
Anja Lauvdal - electronics

Hanna Paulsberg - tenor saxophone
Raphael Clarkason - trombone
Rob Luft - acoustic guitars
Liz Exell - drums / percussion

Curated by trumpet player/composer Laura JurdStepping Back, Jumping In is a celebration of new sounds featuring world-class improvisers and contemporary music-makers from Norway and the UK, resulting in a superbly dynamic, 14-piece ensemble. With her Mercury-nominated band Dinosaur at the core, Jurd invites contemporary string specialists, the Ligeti Quartet; acclaimed Norwegian tuba + electronics duo Skrap and saxophonist Hanna Paulsberg; plus UK master-improvisers Rob LuftRaphael Clarkson and Liz Exell to join forces to premiere some brand-new works written specially for the ensemble.

Alongside new compositions by Laura Jurd, Skrap and pianist/composer Elliot Galvin, the ensemble will premiere a new work by British-Iranian composer, Soosan Lolavar whose recent opera I-D Please was performed at Pittsburg Opera in the USA. A bold and ambitious meeting of creative minds, this is sure to be a unique and spell-binding evening, showcasing the sonic magnitude of some of Europe’s most intriguing and eclectic composer-performers.