Concert in Bristol

Image showing a poppy, a samoyed dog, recorders, and the Devil

From hidden romantic messages, metacommunication, and onto the hauntingly beautiful howling of dogs, the Ligeti Quartet explores the infinite and multifaceted nature of communication. The Lyric Suite by Alban Berg accompanies a brand new commission by Robin Haigh, his full length quartet expanding on Samoyeds (Centre for New Music at Sheffield, 2018) which was based on a YouTube video of a pack of dogs imitating a siren.

This is followed by a reading of Dylan Thomas's A Child's Christmas in Wales with music by Adam and Charlotte Caird, and narrator Andy King. A festive fairytale treat for all the family, A Child’s Christmas in Wales chronicles Dylan Thomas's own childhood memories and remains one of his most popular and loved works. In this wonderful adaptation for strings, step into December days ‘as white as Lapland’, where mischief is easily found, snowballs are hurled, and the curious grownups are shrewdly observed.

Ligeti Quartet
Alicja Pilarczyk (guest violin 1)
Patrick Dawkins (violin 2)
Richard Jones (viola)
Val Welbanks (cello)